Key Stage







Valid for

2018 - 2019






Business & ICT

Course Content & Assessment

This course is part of a new generation of Computer Science qualifications. It equips the student with an understanding of programming, hardware and software design. QE following the OCR Computing course which has recently been included in the EBacc measurement.

On completion of the core units students will choose 4 optional units from a wide range – digital graphics, animation, networks, computer maintenance, e-commerce, databases, spreadsheets, software development (programming), website production and management, customisation of web pages. In this way students can link to other courses such as Photography, Physics or Business.

Students ready to commit more time can take the National certificate which has 12 units and is equivalent to 2 A Levels.

Do you have a love for computer software and design?
Level 2 Certificate in Digital Applications has been designed to teach digital design skills and enable young people to use digital tools to express their creativity in an informed and responsible way. It aims to equip young people with the knowledge, understanding and skills they need to design and make effective digital products for others to use, and to support future learning and exploit the creative digital industries.
The qualification has been developed to reflect the increasing use of creative digital computing in everyday life, with greater emphasis on creative design and development

Unit 1: Developing Web Products
25%, Practical Examination Create a website and write an evaluation, 2.5 hours in May 2018
Unit 2: Creative Multimedia
Unit 3: Artwork and Imaging
Unit 4: Game Making
75% 30 hours to complete a Summative project brief (SPB) Completed under supervision

Entry Criteria & Progression

BTEC Level 3 ICT is a commonly seen progression for students from the CIDA course.